Fejka

I’ve been wondering why LLM fake-AI systems manage to be so effective, since they are essentially glorified autocomplete; basically, they are a neural network based probability engine that determines what’s the most likely next word in a sentence.

Maybe because most humans are a neural-network based probability engine that’s also very good at figuring out the next thing that’s expected for them to say. And then this crossed my mind:

FEJKA artificial potted plants don’t require a green thumb. Perfect when you have better things to do than water plants and pick up dead leaves. You’ll have everyone fooled because they look so lifelike.”

That’s what most people are. They are a fejka. LLM systems merely stumbled upon this fact by accident. A fake artificial intelligence can learn to finish sentences, paragraphs and entire articles in passable ways because that’s what fake human intelligence does – finish sentences in a “correct” way in order to avoid ridicule and punishment. Everybody knows what to say and all their conversations are formulaic and predictable to the point where someone learned how to make a computer system that does the same thing.

It’s not just text. People learn how to take photographs in a formulaic way that gets them acclaim and avoids ridicule. They learn how to have spiritual experiences that will get them acclaim and avoid ridicule, because they are of the exact same kind as everybody else’s, which is what created the idea of religions having the same origin and goal and it’s all the same thing. It’s because everybody has been copying homework from others. They are all fejka plastic potted plants. Looks like the real thing, but even better, because you don’t have to water it.

Now that I think about it more, human brain seems to be very good at doing the human autocomplete thing on autopilot when there’s no soul in the driver’s seat. The corollary is that spiritual awakening is the point where a soul wakes up in the body and actually starts perceiving things, paying attention and controlling actions – “oh fuck, I’m driving a car”. That’s why actual souls can be perceived as weird compared to a fejka NPC – a fejka knows what it has to say next. An actual soul has to figure it out, and is likely to say the “wrong thing”.

Pocketable wideangle

Israel and America struck Natanz nuclear facility in Iran.

In return, Iran struck Dimona, probably hitting scientists and technicians who work there, but not the nuclear reactor itself.

America and Iran are exchanging ultimatums as to what will happen if the other side doesn’t bend over.

Panic is starting over fuel prices.

Me, I’m testing the new Sigma 24mm f/3.5 DG DN, on the Sony A7RV because A7CR is still in the mail. It’s good that I bought it, because A7RV isn’t a light camera by any means. It isn’t big, but it’s heavy, quite on par with something like the Olympus E-1 dSLR which was basically made of aluminium ingot. A7CR is closer in size and weight to Olympus E-410.

The problem with using a wideangle as your walkaround lens is that everything is sharp, which means you compose scenes where one actually gets to see the whole scenery. That’s what you actually want when you’re a tourist and you want to show where you were, but when you take pictures of your back yard as I usually do, things get repetitive very quickly, as you take pictures of the same things again and again.

There are only so many times you can pull this off.

The lens itself is, as expected, sharp, with excellent colours and contrast, very resistant to flare and chromatic aberrations, and does everything great. It basically produces the same image quality as my Zeiss 16-35mm f/4, only stuck at the middle of its range, and much smaller and lighter.

This was in the town of Hvar; it did everything great, but I noticed that I was too accustomed to using 50mm and longer lenses; all the compositions I initially saw were details and cutouts, and 24mm was initially a shock. I recovered better than Biljana did with her RF 16mm f/2.8, after using nothing wider than 35mm for years. Ultrawide lenses are definitely a thing of their own, and an acquired taste. Yesterday, I continued testing it in nature, while Biljana returned to the 105mm macro.

As you can see, it’s essentially like using the iPhone main camera, only with image quality that would not fall apart on a big screen or a big print. It’s obviously not something I would use every day, because the most interesting parts of the scenery are the small details that catch the light, and not the whole thing. Still, there are things that work great with a wide angle.

And that’s exactly what this lens is for, because normally I would have something longer on the camera – 50mm to 135mm – and when a wider scene appeared, I’d photograph it with my phone, because of course I didn’t take the Zeiss with me because it’s heavy for something to carry around just in case. Well, this lens is for just such cases; it captures the image width of an iPhone, only with the resolution of 4×5″ large format Velvia scanned on a Heidelberg drum scanner. And it’s pocketable. And there are no stupid lens flare artefacts that are a standard thing on an iPhone.

Do I want to use a proper camera and a proper lens to emulate the look of an iPhone? Well, there’s not necessarily that much wrong with the iPhone image, if you want everything to be sharp. I captured many good images with that camera, but the problem arises when I come home and see what that image looks like on a big monitor, and detail falls apart, shadows fall apart, and the whole thing looks overprocessed in the worst way. But the 24mm image itself is definitely something that sometimes works great.

The answer to “can’t you just do it with the iPhone?” is of course I can, and on downsized pictures for the web you probably can’t see the difference, but I can. Also, with proper equipment, I can at any point make huge prints for an exhibition. With iPhone pictures, that would not work so well.

 

Cringe

I just watched a video from a famous photo YouTuber on how everything that resembles stuff that can be AI generated is now “cringe” – essentially, the highly polished, fancy stuff – and things that are lo-fi, such as film or photography that looks like it was taken with a phone, are “trending” now, and if you want to be “in”, you should do that now.

People who wanted to be “in” went to Epstein’s island to fuck children and worship Baal, or they waited in line to suck Weinstein’s cock. Makes you think that something might be inherently wrong with trying to fit in with the cool crowd, following trends and doing “whatever it takes” to succeed.

I hate fake people. I see them everywhere – in photography, politics, business, spirituality. They all know what you need to say and do to project a certain impression. Even “being authentic” is a thing that’s routinely faked.

So my answer to this newest trend of “avoiding cringe” and “being authentic” is “fuck you and the horse you rode in on”. Fuck everything about you. Go find a trendy cock to suck somewhere and shut the fuck up. There is nothing cringier than the vacuous trend followers trying to fake authenticity because it’s trending. Get fucked.

Tidbits and trinkets

The Iran war is going as expected – every day more things are burning, while Trump is trying to short oil prices in order to keep up the pretence. There’s a reason why people traditionally didn’t do that – I mean, go into more debt in order to be able to sell valuable assets under the market price. Everybody who tried, got to go bankrupt and starve. For instance, you hear there’s going to be a bad winter. Instead of hoarding stuff in the basement, you sell everything under cost, because no reality is going to tell you what to do. The winter came, you died and became a cautionary tale. Something like America is about to. Yeah, reduce oil prices artificially. That will make people buy your oil because it’s cheaper, and you’re going to run out, and the low prices will make people not ration, so your supplies are going to run out even faster.

Instead of making popcorn, I’m playing with photography. Specifically, with the small and light setup that I ordered. The A7CR camera is still in the mail, but everything else arrived. I tested the FE 28-60mm f/4-5.6 lens; the small collapsible thing that comes in kit with A7C. It’s very good:

It also seems to work quite well on a macro extender, which is pocketable, so I can have both medium-range landscape setup and a closeup setup in very pocketable dimensions when I don’t feel like carrying the camera. Is it going to be as good as the A7RV? The sensor and the electronics in the A7CR are the same, and the FE 28-60mm, according to my test, is for the most part sharper than the FE 24-105mm f/4 G, except at 60mm, so yes, it’s going to be as good, at least on a sunny day when I work at f/8. Also, what can you do with some kit lens and extension tubes? Quite a lot, as it turns out:

Much more than I can do with an iPhone, that’s for sure. Those two were taken with Canon 5d, and EF 35-70mm f/3.5-4.5 on macro extension tubes. I actually preferred that setup to EF 85mm f/1.8, because it was lighter, and the lens created a very nice glow wide open, which made the pictures look more magical.

So, that’s what I’m doing while waiting. Beats popcorn.

Countdown

I found this on Telegram this morning:

Australia’s Energy Minister: “We only have enough gasoline for 18 days, diesel fuel for 16 days, and aviation fuel for 14 days. And a ship from the Persian Gulf takes 2 to 4 weeks to arrive.”

I went to check the sources, and I found this. Basically, the statement was from the beginning of March, and the Russians just did the math, and they are very good at math. It checks out.

I would assume that everybody who is dependent on Arab oil is in a similar situation. The Russians and everybody attached to them as a source are perfectly fine. The American colonies are fucked.

This means that, as of now, Russia is the most powerful economic force in the world. They determine who lives and who dies. Everybody else is living on strategic reserves that are being depleted quickly, because they are trying to bring down oil prices in order to pretend that, politically, this is nothing. This means they will all run out of strategic reserves within two to three weeks, after which there’ll be doomsday.

So, either everybody instantly takes measures to extend the duration of their strategic reserve, by raising oil prices and rationing supply, and take measures to secure Russian oil, because it’s not sure how much of a surge in supply the Russians will be able to create, regardless of intent. Those things have technological limits. Pipelines are designed for some projected demand and so on.

Israel and America seems to have run out of air defence. Everything Iran launches now, hits the target. Iran, on the other hand, seems to be doing fine. They are just incredibly pissed. America will be forced to either evacuate their forces from the region, or use nuclear weapons to neutralise Iran. This choice will have to be made within a week. Also, the shortages of oil will become a thing of immediate concern within 7 to 10 days, which is half the time to projected end of supply. This is also the point where everybody starts to panic in earnest, because at that point even if everything instantly restarts, which it won’t, the shortages are already in the pipeline, baked into the supply chain. Also, one third of the world’s production of artificial fertiliser production is in the Gulf, and it’s been disrupted. This will automatically cause disruptions in food production, and higher food prices. It’s already baked into the supply chain. The other third of fertilisers comes from Russia. This makes Russia both untouched by this, and in high demand.

America formally has lots of oil and gas, but it remains to be seen how much of that exists on paper alone. A country that has as much oil as they claim to have wouldn’t need to deplete their strategic oil reserves as much as they are doing, which makes me think most of the data is fake, like everything that comes from America. This is now going to be tested in earnest.

Israel is having a strategic problem at the moment and probability of them using nuclear weapons to solve it is pretty high, in my assessment. Since they are open to air attacks now, the time to decide is already ticking.

This puts my assessment of probability of nuclear use by either America or Israel within two weeks at very high. Trump and the people around him sound completely irrational, as if they were getting high on their own supply for too long and they lost all connection to reality. Israel feels pretty desperate, like it’s now or never, they are faced with complete annihilation and they have to act now. There was a 4.2 magnitude earthquake in Negev desert, near Dimona, mid January, which looks like a nuclear test that nobody talked about. If that is so, it would mean that they wanted to know whether their stuff actually works before they used it.

On first nuclear use, I expect things to escalate rapidly.